Tuesday, August 30, 2022
HomeUAE NewsBJP slips in MP mayoral polls, retains municipal our bodies

BJP slips in MP mayoral polls, retains municipal our bodies

In 2014, the BJP swept the mayoral elections in Madhya Pradesh by scoring all 16 seats. This yr, nonetheless, the state’s ruling BJP retained 9 seats, misplaced 5 to Congress, one to the Aam Aadmi Get together, or AAP, and one to a celebration insurgent who fought as an impartial from Katni.

The Congress gained a mayoral election in Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar’s Lok Sabha constituency and state BJP chief VD Sharma’s dwelling district, Morena.

That is the BJP’s worst efficiency in 20 years in Madhya Pradesh’s mayoral elections. In 1999 and 2004, the Congress gained simply two seats and within the 2009 polls, it managed to win three mayoral seats.

In a big political growth, two new events have additionally made their entry – the AAP by profitable Singrauli, and Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM.

In Burhanpur, an AIMIM mayoral candidate received greater than 10,000 votes in her favour, ensuing within the defeat of Congress’s Shanaz Ismail by a slim margin of 388 votes in opposition to BJP’s Madhuri Patel.

The Congress gained three out of the 11 mayoral posts within the first part in comparison with BJP’s seven, however within the second part the Congress snatched Morena and Rewa from the BJP.

State Congress chief Kamal Nath stated the outcomes had been an indication of what will occur within the meeting election subsequent yr.

The BJP gained the second part of mayoral polls in Ratlam and Dewas, whereas its insurgent candidate Priti Suri, who contested as an impartial after she was denied a celebration ticket, defeated the get together’s official candidate Jyoti Dixit in Katni. Katni comes below state BJP chief VD Sharma’s Lok Sabha constituency Khajuraho.

In Jabalpur, Rewa and Gwalior, which elected Congress mayor, and Katni, which voted for the BJP insurgent as mayor, and Singrauli, the place the AAP candidate was elected mayor,  the identical voters supported BJP councillors in a majority of the wards in municipal firms.

The BJP swept the Nagar Palika polls in communally delicate Khargone city, which was the location of lethal riots on Ram Navami on April 10. The ruling get together gained 19 out of the whole 33 wards of Khargone Nagar Palika, adopted by the Congress in 4 wards, AIMIM in three wards and independents in seven wards.

With this, AIMIM managed to win in seven municipal wards in 4 cities and cities, together with Jabalpur, Burhanpur, Khandwa and Khargone, moreover taking part in a key function within the Congress’s loss in opposition to the ruling BJP in Burhanpur.

Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan congratulated get together employees. “Congress has gained mayoral polls in Gwalior, Jabalpur and Rewa; nonetheless, the BJP has not solely gained majority within the municipal firms in the identical cities, however will consequently have its personal chairpersons working the proceedings of these very firms,” Chouhan stated.

“In Katni, the mayor is an impartial candidate who belongs to the BJP solely, whereas in Singrauli the mayor is from AAP, however our get together has the bulk within the company,” he stated.

State Congress chief Kamal Nath stated the outcomes had been an indication of what will occur within the meeting election subsequent yr.

The BJP carried out higher in Nagar Palika and Nagar Parishad polls by profitable 65 out of the 76 Nagar Palikas at 85 per cent strike price and 231 out of the 255 Nagar Parishads at 90.58 per cent success price.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments