Monday, August 22, 2022
HomeAsian NewsVoting begins to elect Sri Lanka's new president in three-cornered contest

Voting begins to elect Sri Lanka’s new president in three-cornered contest

A candidate has to cross the magical determine of 113 within the 225-member Home to win the election

Colombo: The Sri Lankan Parliament on Wednesday started voting to elect the successor to Gotabaya Rajapaksa in a three-way presidential contest, following a high-voltage political drama which noticed the previous president fleeing the nation and resigning after a well-liked rebellion towards his authorities for mismanaging the financial system.

The voting by secret poll is going down amidst tight safety within the wake of the simmering tensions within the island nation triggered by the unprecedented financial and political disaster

Appearing President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Dullas Alahapperuma, a dissident ruling celebration MP backed by the primary opposition, and leftist Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) chief Anura Kumara Dissanayake had been proposed by lawmakers on Tuesday because the three candidates for the presidential election.

A candidate has to cross the magical determine of 113 within the 225-member Home to win the election.

Alahapperuma’s identify was proposed by the Chief of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa and Member of Parliament G L Peiris seconded it. Wickremesinghe’s identify was proposed by the Chief of the Home and minister Dinesh Gunawardena and MP Manusha Nanayakkara seconded it. Dissanayake’s identify was proposed by MP Vijitha Herath and MP Harini Amarasuriya seconded it.

Wickremesinghe, 73, is seen because the frontrunner as he has the backing of the ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP).

Wickremesinghe faces a critical problem from 63-year-old Alahapperuma, who’s backed by the primary opposition.

That is for the primary time in 44 years that Sri Lanka’s Parliament will immediately elect a president. Presidential elections in 1982, 1988, 1994, 1999, 2005, 2010, 2015 and 2019 had elected them by common vote.

The one earlier event when the presidency turned vacant mid-term was in 1993 when president Ranasinghe Premadasa was assassinated. DB Wijetunga was unanimously endorsed by Parliament to run the stability of Premadasa’s time period.

The brand new president elected on Wednesday will serve the remaining tenure of Rajapaksa until November 2024.

After the election, Parliament will convene once more on July 27. 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments